top of page
Search

The joy of gardening and watching nature at its best...Where time stands till.

Updated: May 13, 2021


During the coming spring and summer months, we will be posting hints, help and where you can find great value in flowers and the maintenance and care of them. Welcome to urban gardening with Points of Sue.


Picked up some real bobby dazzlers from Lidl. They are called Bougainvillea or Vera Deep Purple. he striking deep purple-pink flowers cluster in compact flower clusters. This plant is suitable as a flowering houseplant, but also as a terrace or tub plant. They cost £5.79 each and I have purchased 3. They settle happily in the soil having put mine in a tub but I also added a nice handful of compost so that they have some nutrient on being moved from the smaller pot. I will be using them on the terrace and am looking forward to them flowering and growing and making quite a talking point.





If you have not already done so then have a look at your local Morrisons stores, I love nothing more than a good gander around the plants section and found to my joy that they have rose bushes for £5. That was like finding gold for me and I promptly bought two. They are due to get some more this week and I will be one of the first in the queue. Morrisons really do look after their plants and you can buy with confidence.

They are very hardy for any changes in the weather and if you have a problem with your soil as some areas just do not take the more delicate plants, then plump for a wild rose bush. They normally have the spikes on them....so make sure you wear your gloves and if you get scratched wash with disinfectant as some people have gone onto develop a flesh eating bug from the thorns of roses, so just be careful when handling and don't ignore scratches.


In my own garden I am putting up a row of heather and a row of rose bushes and started some three years ago and they are coming along nicely, and the heather actually keep their colour all year round which in winter makes for a lovely sight.


You can see the rose bush just to the right and it is growing at a nice rate and that's because the first thing I did...and bear in mind I am a novice gardener is make sure the hole I had dug was deep and wide enough to take the bulky stem (leave some gap between plants too so that there is breathing room), and purchased some horse manure pellets as it is good for the ground and there is no smell which is always a plus I can remember people used to go after the rag and bone man with a shovel because the horse would leave its manure around, and then the lingering smell on dad's roses was awful but the blooms were gorgeous. Thankfully we have evolved now.


When the rose bush starts getting to a height of some 8", have a wooden post in the ground ready for it as it will help it grow up straight. I have plastic ties for the rose bushes as it allows me to let them out when necessary and they won't be moved from the final point, and it is better than having thin twine as that can erode and before you know where you are at.....the rose bush has changed shape. I always go for 8" as the rose bush needs time to grow a little first but am always mindful of the fact it needs support.


I have a wooden archway by mine and one of the roses is starting to grow up against the arch, and with the ivy growing too, it makes a lovely sight on a nice sunny day. Quick tip when the leaves fall....leave them on the ground as they are nitrate and actually feed the soil. I have started my own compost bin now and plan on using that as soil feed and other than the purchase of the bin, it saves you pounds and pounds as improving your garden with plants should not cost a fortune if you shop around...so grass cuttings, clippings etc...put it in your compost bin.


I now have 20 rose bushes in my garden as my father loved roses and I gained my love of them from him. They do not need taking constantly taking care of and I recommend buying some rose aphid bug spray as they seem to attract them like no tomorrow, and I will not put down any pellets in the garden as I have 2 cats and a dog and often buy bedding plants to sacrifice to the slugs and snails. This ensures that the plants will grow. Bedding plants do not cost much and if you can afford to do that, then I recommend doing so as the result is worth it in the end.


My eldest son Thomas does the hard work due to my being disabled and quite often having somebody else to help you with the garden opens up new possibilities especially if you are restricted like me, but that should not stop you enjoy your garden and picking your plants.


When I buy my new rose plants I soak it overnight in a bowl with water and that gives it the nourishment it needs. Give it a little bit of baby bio too and try and get it in the first thing in the morning, letting it settle before the sun comes out. I also do that if it is raining as it allows the soil to settle naturally. Either way make sure you water it when you add and the horse manure pellets in and gently push the soil down so it has a firm grip in the garden. Gently using your foot should do this but don't push too tight.


These roses from Morrisons are excellent value for money. I went to various garden local centres and they wanted £10 to £15 and I got mine for £5. So before looking in expensive garden centres have a look round your local supermarket.


I also came across some roses at our local Lidl and these were £3.49 each. They are great value for money but only come in one colour...red....but if you don't mind that and I don't they make a great addition to your garden.



They will with good preparation and plenty of sun and watering last through the cold snaps and for £3.49 you cannot argue at the price. I bought a dozen and they are now in the garden and I am looking forward to when they are in full height and full bloom.


Don't buy them if you want a quick growing plant as they do grow at a nice rate but if you want instant results then this is not the plant for you, however if you are like me and very patient then they will be a talking point in any garden as everyone who comes to my home is always given a tour of the roses.


I have at every 3 rose planted a yellow, pink or white rose and am now on the hunt for the dark blue/purple ones and plan to have a rockery built in the middle of the lawn with just those rose bushes in there. I have actually put lights around mine at night and it is a lovely sight. The neighbours say they love seeing the roses from their garden as they are striking when fully grown.


As I have stated they take a little bit of looking after but not as demanding as other plants and make sure you get the roses buy sprayer...it costs anything from £3.99 to a £5.00 and almost any make is ok but it will save your leaves turning black and the influx of bugs. Finding earwigs liking them was not a pleasant surprise but 4 sprays through the spring and summer works great. By the way...spray in the early evening after the bees have gone as it could affect them and we know how important the bees and yes even wasps are, and it could actually affect them from finding the nest. Mind you in my garden they don't have to go far as I have a bee's nest in an empty bird's nest and they are happy as anything in there....so I leave them.


I take the greatest of joy from my garden and I hope you join me on my step by step gardening adventure and where we will have some good results and some bad ones, but each is a learning curve.


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page